Delicious Request Pie

13 Nov

Tonight I made a pie.  I have made this pie before.  And before that.  And then only once before that.  This pie is popular in our house.  Especially with Ian.  After I made it the first time he said that I would make it again.  It didn’t really sounds like a request, more of an order actually.  But henceforth it shall be known as super delicious request pie.  And commence pictures for ya’ll to drool over!

The pie basically included chicken, mushrooms, green beans, all smothered in a deliciously creamy mustard sauce.  Dammit, I want to eat it all over again!  Which is good, because we’re having it for leftovers tomorrow.  Yeeeah!

Look at the beautiful golden crust!

The next picture is of the crust.  This is the first time that I have been able to get it properly puffy and golden.  The trick is to let your pie filling cool (not totally cold, but not piping hot) before you place the pasty over top, otherwise you’ll find that your pastry ends up getting soggy and the heat will make the various puffy layers stick together.  I also used an egg wash this time, instead of a milk wash.  It gave the crust a better golden brown and added lovely crispy bits (mmm…).  Alas, I do not own a pastry brush though, even though I thought I did, so I had to improvise with my finger brush.

Awe! It even has little leaves on it - how quaint!

We had boiled potatoes with herbs and smashed carrots with our pie.  The carrots were meant to be just plain, but I was using old wonky carrots and they didn’t look so pretty once I cut them up.  The solution to that problem is always to roughly mash them.  I also added some thyme and olive oil…  which is known to make anything taste great!

Oh jeez, it looks SO delicious!

And then it was gone.  I have a feeling I’ll be making this pie again.  And again.  And again…

Yeah, that's right. Leaves and all!

If you want the recipe let me know and I’ll attempt to type up my manic kitchen process that ends in this result.  It is loosely based on three other pie recipes, so I am sure I can figure something coherent out.

Leave a Reply

